Photos for Photoshop

This week’s (two weeks ago…is it Spring yet??) really made me consider the photographs and images I want to incorporate into my final project and image assignment. The early twentieth-century Tuberculosis directories and state and federal sanatorium pamphlets that I utilized in Clio I for primary sources are a good start. All of the images are in the public domain.

sanatorium exhibit

Though the images are in black and white, I would really like to enhance the color of this Catawba Sanatorium photograph from the 1908 Virginia Bulletin of Health. Since the literature discussing TB espoused a salubrious environment as the best cure for the disease, I would like the trees and air to stand out in the image.

catawba sanatorium

I had a lot of fun exploring the color palette sites and lynda videos for photoshop and web design. The most user friendly color site is http://colorschemedesigner.com/.  I like that the site displays complementary colors, as well as an entire color palette. As a person new to web design and color palettes, I appreciated the different “scheme ids,” including the tetrad and triad schemes. This is definitely a go-to tool for a quick color palette layout decision.

I haven’t yet imported my images into Photoshop yet, but that is my next step. I want to eventually incorporate those edited images back into my profile page and type assignment. It’s fun and useful to keep building upon previous assignments, adding new technology every week.

Comment on Becca’s blog and Beth’s blog

2 thoughts on “Photos for Photoshop

  1. Hey Sara,
    Looks like you have some great images to experiment with; I really like your idea to play up the color of the trees and the sky so as to emphasize a historical argument regarding benefits of “salubrious environment.” I hadn’t really thought of color as capable of making or reinforcing an argument, so this is a great perspective.

Leave a Reply

