Gridlock

This week’s readings on layout, basic design principles, and grids really helped in reformatting my website. When I was a young, nerdy kid I drew architectural layouts for houses on blue-lined graph paper. I would even draw in furniture, color it, and calculate square footage and cost. Like I said- nerdy. So the idea of applying the grid concept to web sites struck the right chord. It makes total sense to structure each page that way.

I am still trying to figure out how to apply the grid I want to my site, but it is definitely better than last week. The image fits my content, the “About” page is moved, and I even moved my navigation box and paragraphs to follow that” top-right-bottom-left” movement of the user’s eye. Hopefully as the weeks progress, it will have the look and feel of a true digital history and medicine portfolio.

www.saracollini.org

The lynda.com videos helped a great deal, especially the tutorials concerning structural html5. I’m glad that we have that immensely helpful resource available 24/7. Even though it’s only been a couple of weeks in Clio II, I have learned a lot about simple website design, introductory html, and typography.

Comment on Dan and Anne

2 thoughts on “Gridlock

  1. Wow, Sara, you really were a nerd. Just kidding 🙂 I like your post here because I find it refreshing and reassuring. We have learned a lot in a mere three weeks, but thank you for pointing out that coding and site-building are learning processes. One of the most frustrating things is looking at a site and visualizing what you want it to be and then finding that you have no idea how to make that happen…yet anyway. But the great thing about digital is that it is conducive to this kind of write and revise strategy; in fact, it encourages it (unlike the more traditional book/article process of publish and done.) So, thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

